Our services

An overview of FPInnovations’ services.
  • FOREST OPERATIONS
  • PULP, PAPER AND
    BIOPRODUCTS
  • WOOD PRODUCTS
  • ENVIRONMENT AND
    SUSTAINABILITY
  • TRANSPORTATION

Biomass Supply Analysis

Denis Cormier

T  514 782-4539

denis.cormier@fpinnovations.ca

Energy Efficiency Training and Workshops

Jan Michaelsen

T  514 782-4524

jan.michaelsen@fpinnovations.ca

Forest Operations Energy Efficiency and Fuel Consumption Benchmarking and Testing

Jan Michaelsen

T  514 782-4524

jan.michaelsen@fpinnovations.ca

Heavy Vehicle Dynamic and Safety Evaluation

Jan Michaelsen

T  514 782-4524

jan.michaelsen@fpinnovations.ca

Harvest Operations Diagnostics/Benchmarking

Jim Hunt

T  604 222-5618

james.hunt@fpinnovations.ca

Partial Cutting Implementation Support

Philippe Meek

T  514 782-4542

philippe.meek@fpinnovations.ca

Road Design, Maintenance and Management Support

Allan Bradley

T  604 222-5667

allan.bradley@fpinnovations.ca

Road Safety Inspection Services

Glen Légère

T  514 782-4544

glen.legere@fpinnovations.ca

Tools and Support for Silviculture Rate Establishment

Denis Cormier

T  514 782-4539

denis.cormier@fpinnovations.ca

Wildfire Operations Research
Hinton Training Centre-Academic Building

Ray Ault

T  780 865-6977

ray.ault@fpinnovations.ca

Boiler Optimization

Our boiler optimization service focuses on optimizing combustion, air-distribution, temperature profiles, black liquor and hog fuel firing parameters as well as minimizing boiler emissions.

Wenli Duo

T  604 225-5804

wenli.duo@fpinnovations.ca

Print Quality Services

FPInnovations has a well-recognized scientific laboratory offering a wide range of knowledge, equipment and expertise to the paper and printing industries. Paper companies, printers, and printing suppliers take advantage of our unique services to resolve print quality problems and to support new product development.

Tony Manfred

T  514 782-4560

tony.manfred@fpinnovations.ca


Click here to consult the Fact Sheets

Chemical Pulp Plant

Brent Thomas

T  514 782-4600

brent.thomas@fpinnovations.ca

Chemical Monitoring

The chemical monitoring group provides analytical technical services, through standard and non-standard methods, in the resolution of process and product quality related issues. We also offer testing and consultation for the assessment of environmental impact of air emissions, solid waste and wastewater from pulp and paper mills.


Serge Genest

T  514 782-4482

serge.genest@fpinnovations.ca

Corrosion Services

Douglas Singbeil

T  604 225-5811

douglas.singbeil@fpinnovations.ca

Fibreline Benchmarking

Fibreline Benchmarking is evaluating pulp quality along kraft mill fibrelines and finding ways to improve it.

Theodore Radiotis

T  514 782-4605

theodore.radiotis@fpinnovations.ca

Centre for Research and Innovation in the Bio-economy Lignin Pilot Plant

FPInnovations’ lignin plant is designed to extract lignin from black liquor, a kraft pulp mill stream which is presently burned, and characterize it in terms of use in a range of chemical applications.

Kirsten Maki

Thunder Bay, ON

T  807 475-2685

kirsten.maki@fpinnovations.ca

Mechanical Pulping Pilot Plant

Xuejun Zou

T  514 630-4104

xuejun.zou@fpinnovations.ca

Nanocrystalline Cellulose Pilot Plant
Jean-François Revol Pilot Plant

George Sacciadis

T  514 782-4606

george.sacciadis@fpinnovations.ca

Product Performance Testing Laboratory, Testing

FPInnovations’ Product Performance Testing group offers ISO 17025-accredited testing of pulp, paper and paperboard products and standard reference materials for the verification of test instruments. Other services include: testing consulting services, inter-laboratory proficiency testing programs, product benchmarking programs and laboratory audit and operator training services.

FPInnovations’ Optics Laboratory is one of only five ISO-Authorized laboratories worldwide for issuing IR3 Standards for measuring ISO brightness, whiteness, and colour, according to ISO 2469, 2470-1, and 11475. We also provide consultation and diagnostic materials for resolving colorimetric problems. We actively pursue technical innovations in this field and contribute to the development of ISO Standards.

Subscription to this program is available on a monthly, bimonthly, or quarterly basis.

Pierre Simon

T  514 782-4613

pierre.simon@fpinnovations.ca

Wayne Bichard

T  514 782-4640

wayne.bichard@fpinnovations.ca

Pilot Paper and Tissue Machine

This machine is ideal for papermakers looking to develop new grades and test their machine configurations. For suppliers, this service can help with testing and demonstrating new products and technologies.

Daniel Ricard

T  514 782-4576

daniel.ricard@fpinnovations.ca

Process Engineering Group

 

  • Unique, science-driven approach that integrates years of expertise with research insights, advanced facilities, and testing for every need

  • Extensive range of unique tools, expertise, and standard tests and analyses that enhance our troubleshooting capabilities

  • Comprehensive knowledge and in-depth understanding of many different papermaking processes

View the FPInnovations’ Process Engineering Group brochure

 

Douglas Singbeil

T  604 225-5811

douglas.singbeil@fpinnovations.ca

Resource Evaluation Pilot Plant

Mark Frith

T  604 225-5800

mark.frith@fpinnovations.ca

Web and Roll Centre

The web and roll centre is a unique suite of tools and expertise dedicated to understand and solve paper and rolls quality problems that affect web uniformity, dimensional stability and pressroom performance.

Frederic Parent

T  514 782-4653

frederic.parent@fpinnovations.ca

 
 

CT Imaging Centre

Gabor Szathmary

T  604 222-5628

gabor.szathmary@fpinnovations.ca

Fire Research Centre

T 613 523-0478

Kiln Schedules and Audits

Luiz Oliveira

T 604 222-5608

luiz oliveira@fpinnovations.ca

Machine Performance

FPInnovations’ machine performance service provides clients with analysis of any machine or scanning errors they may be having including log rotation, cant placement and wood movement.

Bruce Lehmann

T  604 222-5643

bruce.lehmann@fpinnovations.ca

Mill and Log Yard Flow Analysis

FPInnovations’ Mill and Log Yard Flow Analysis looks at production flow bottlenecks and machine utilization. The service is very useful for those planning upgrades for individual machine centres as well as processing lines.

Catalin Ristea

T  604 222-5708

catalin.ristea@fpinnovations.ca

Mill Reviews

Mill Reviews are two-day reviews of sawmill operations to identify issues and opportunities. This can include: sawmill, kilns and planer inspection.

Bruce Lehmann

T  604 222-5643

bruce.lehmann@fpinnovations.ca

Resource Characterization

Gerry Middleton

T  604 222-5686

gerry.middleton@fpinnovations.ca

Saw and Chipping Performance

Those looking for advice on saws, feeds and speeds and filing practices will want to utilize this service. It also includes machine alignment service and training as well as lab testing of saws.

Bruce Lehmann

T  604 222-5643

bruce.lehmann@fpinnovations.ca

Sawmill Modelling and Optimization

The Sawmill Modelling and Optimization service is log breakdown analysis of equipment and material flow to improve mill efficiency, reduce costs and maximize lumber volume and value recovery.

Catalin Ristea

T  604 222-5708

catalin.ristea@fpinnovations.ca

Standards Council of Canada (ISO 17025) accredited tests

Sylvain Gagnon

T  418 781-6702

sylvain.gagnon@fpinnovations.ca

Standards Council of Canada (ISO 17025) accredited tests

FPInnovations’ wood engineering group provides Standards Council of Canada (ISO 17025) accredited tests related to evaluation of properties and behavior of lumber, engineered wood products, connections, structural elements, assemblies and structural systems under various types of loading.

Paul Symons and Marjan Popovski

Paul Symons

T  604 222-5630

paul.symons@fpinnovations.ca

Marjan Popovski

T  604 222-5739

marjan.popovski@fpinnovations.ca

Environmental Services – Fish Lab

Environmental Services provides investigative and consultation services such as interpretive biological and chemical analysis and TIE (toxicity identification evaluation).

Valerie Nash

T  514 782-4469

valerie.naish@fpinnovations.ca

Environmental Product Declarations – Life Cycle Assessment Analysis

Lal Mahalle

T  604 222-5626

lal.mahalle@fpinnovations.ca

Performance Innovation Transport (PIT) – Energotest™

Delivered by FPInnovations’ PIT group, the Energotest is a way for fleet managers to certify their fleets with accurate information on the impact of technologies on fuel consumption and greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.

Yves Provencher

T  514 782-4523

yves.provencher@fpinnovations.ca

 
 
not-front
discover